Skip to content

Exile Lifestyle: How it inspired me to do this trip

August 5, 2010

There is a bloke that I follow online that I really admire. Colin Wright is his name; Exile Lifestyle is his site.

A talented graphic designer, Wright decided to get rid of all but 70 possessions a few years back and has been on the road ever since. Every 4 months he moves to a new country. This has taken him from the US to South America to New Zealand and back to the US, so far. “How does he afford such a mobile lifestyle?” you ask. He takes his work with him on the road.

I credit Wright as one of my inspirations to head to New Zealand in October. Six or so months ago I was sitting at my desk at work, completely uninspired in the task I was doing and I came across his site. The whole travelling around the world without strings side of it was one thing but his philosophy on minimising one’s material life sort of hit me like a brick too.

One day as I walked into my living room to get ready for work I couldn’t help but stare and think about the big chest of drawers next to the door to my balcony. “What do I even keep in there?” I thought, so I had a poke around. Lots of paper work, books, bits and bobs; nothing in there I needed. I chose to have it. This was depressing.

My father is also big on minimalism and travel and it is something I never really appreciated until I started reading Exile Lifestyle. Dad doesn’t like the idea of keeping things for the sake of them being things. If you’re going to have possessions, he thinks, they may as well be of some utility otherwise what’s the point?

Sure, some things may be of no obvious utility but still hold meaning. He believes that one ought to reflect on the origins of that thing from a utilitarian perspective to assess whether it is really worth keeping. Hence, I have gotten rid of tonnes of stuff over the past few months but have held onto a few things that hold great sentimental meaning to me.

I don’t know, at this point of my life, whether I am ready to make the jump that Wright has, as much as I admire that he has.

If you want to be inspired to travel and cut down on clutter in your life, check out Exile Lifestyle.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 9:02 am

    Thanks for the shout, Paul!

    I’m thrilled that I could play some small role in pushing you toward your next step! You’ll enjoy the hell out of New Zealand – it’s a beautiful place full of wonderful people.

    Good luck on your journey, and keep me updated 🙂

Leave a Reply

