Skip to content

Buses and Planes

August 20, 2010

Exciting stuff. I’m all booked for NZ.

I’m flying Jetstar from Adelaide to Melbourne and Melbourne to Christchurch. Then Air New Zealand from Christchurch to Auckland.

Yes, I know, it seems the long way around, seeing there are now direct flights from Adelaide to Auckland (though I think it only runs once a week) but I booked the Melbourne to Christchurch leg months ago, long before I intended to do the Te Araroa Track.

Once I’ve completed the North Island leg of the Te Araroa I am taking a couple of weeks off (hopefully for Christmas / New year, as I have a friend who will be over from Australia) and then shooting down to Wanaka to volunteer as a hut warden at the French Ridge Hut.

On the subject of transport, the deal I got to head down to Wanaka from Wellington and then back to Picton (via Hokitika – I plan to stay a couple of nights at Drifting Sands, the best hostel I have ever stayed in) on Nakedbus.com is absolutely gobsmacking! Christchurch to Wanaka, Wanaka to Hokitika, Hokitika to Nelson, Nelson to Picton: eight dollars!

If you want cheap transport in New Zealand be sure to check out Nakedbus.com. I believe the first fare on each journey is only $1 (plus a $1 booking fee). Even the subsequent fares are pretty cheap. I travelled on Nakedbus.com to get from Te Anau to Twizel last year. Cost a pittance.

Peace out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

