Skip to content

And The Surprises Keep Coming

September 2, 2010

Yes, I am a geek. But look at the attached image.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 5:02 am

    Hey Paul,

    Did you really do this? this is awesome! or is it a google earth overlay that we could download as well??!?
    sorry, a bit cheeky but that could help us all quite a bit.

    Hows the other trip prep going anyway?

    Thanks,
    Landey

    • Paul permalink*
      September 4, 2010 9:12 am

      The track overlay I painstakingly sourced from the Te Araroa Truth website. If you go into each individual track section you’ll find them, and they can be extracted from the source code. 

      I then imported them into Google Earth and the elavation data, for instance, was already on the .kml file. 

      I’m now using Earth as my masterplan. As you can see, I’m breaking the track down into days (roughly) and I’m including accommodation, food drops, etc.  

    • Paul permalink*
      September 4, 2010 9:14 am

      p.s the prep is going slowely. I have to stop dabbling and concentrate I reckon. 😉

  2. September 4, 2010 4:43 pm

    yeah same here really. but i think we are going to try and wing it a bit more than you!

    we’ve also been extracting information from the site, but ive been putting it all into a spreadsheet template that i made. perhaps thats not the way to go though and we should also download those files… i presume you meant Te Araroa Trust website?

    also have you heard of maptoaster? (i think that you can buy all the 1:25000 topos for NZ for ~$300. then i guess you can print them out for cheap.

    sorry to hear that the planning is going so slowly!

    • September 4, 2010 5:01 pm

      Maybe I am over-organised but it’s a control thing, I think. That way, if things fuck up, I only have myself to blame, hehe.

      Are you guys doing food drops?

      I haven’t heard of Maptoaster, no. Check out Land Info NZ ( http://www.linz.govt.nz/topography/topo-maps/map-chooser/index.aspx) as you can download all topos there, or send them a USB stick or portable hard drive and they’ll transfer the files and send it back.

    • Paul permalink*
      September 4, 2010 5:06 pm

      Maybe I am over-organised. But the way I look at it, I have the time now so I may as well put it to good use. There are some pretty remote sections of track, and carrying 10 days of food isn’t pleasant, so I want to understand what to expect, and plan for it, as much as possible.

      Are you guys food dropping?

      I haven’t heard of Maptoaster. Have you heard of Linz? If you send them a portable hard drive they will send you all the maps you want for free. Check: http://www.linz.govt.nz/topography/topo-maps/map-chooser/index.aspx

  3. September 8, 2010 5:40 am

    Oh nice! ill have to check that out. that would be super helpful!

    yeah we were planning on it, but only in remote areas and also probably not as much as you, since it will probably be harder for you since we can eat anything… dont really know though. To be honest, it’s really hard finding the time to plan in as much detail as you… I’m working as many hours as I can to get enough money to do it in the first place! still 2000 pounds away 😦

    Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

