Skip to content

Yurrebilla Trail, Adelaide Hills

September 12, 2010
I feel my preparation for the Te Araroa is going okay. I’m walking 5km+ each day during the week with weight on my back which I will, starting this week, follow with a 20km cycle after work – now that the days are longer. On weekends I am hiking 8-12km with a full pack plus a 50km cycle.

As I said, it’s “okay”. It could be better. But time is a factor.

I’ve decided, seeing I still have a few full weekends up my sleeve before I leave, to do the Yurrebilla Trail in the Adelaide Hills in a couple of weeks. It’s a 54km trail that runs through a series of conservation parks and isn’t all that far from my home in central Adelaide. It’s doable over a couple of days.

My intention is to catch the train from Adelaide on the Friday after work – I shall leave work early to beat the rush. Camp at the Belair Caravan Park on the Friday night. Tramp from Belair to the Horsnell CP on the Saturday and stealth camp overnight. And finish off by tramping from Horsnell to Black Hill CP on the Sunday. Ending up on Gorge Road, Athelstone and a short walk from public transport, on Sunday afternoon.

In my time hiking in the Adelaide Hills I have tramped several sections of the Yurrebilla as parts of other tracks.

I’ll keep you all posted on my movements. I’m quite excited to do an overnighter. I haven’t used my tent in a year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Deb Atkinson permalink
    September 12, 2010 7:28 pm

    I have never heard of this trail, yet I’ve just been informed that it’s on our back door step. I will DEFINTATLY look into spending some time here!

    • Paul permalink*
      September 12, 2010 7:37 pm

      I didn’t know much about it until this weekend Deb. I have seen the markers along sections of the Mt Lofty and Morialta tracks but never thought much of it. Picked up all the literature from the South Australian Visitor & Travel Centre today. I’ll be doing it the weekend after next. It’s a real pity that bush camping is not allowed along the track (typical SA for you) but meh, I’ll stealth camp and I am sure I’ll be fine.

Trackbacks

  1. Update – 19/9 « Te Araroa – On Veg
  2. Tweets that mention Yurrebilla Trail, Adelaide Hills « Te Araroa – On Veg -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

